Fête de la Musique

June 21, 2009 at 11:29 PM | Posted in Paris 2009, Wanderings | 1 Comment

Today is a gigantic, Paris-wide music festival, Fête de la Musique, to celebrate the beginning of summer and the longest day of the year.  Starting around 3 or 4pm, concerts spring up in seemingly every corner, green space, or square in the inner arrondissements.  I met up with a friend from Alliance Francaise (my French school) and we walked around, listening to concerts, witnessing a giant protest of something (the Iran elections?) overseen by police in full riot gear, watching amusing people, and generally seeing Paris come alive.  There were so many people out and there’s a general air of festivity in the city.  Music can do that.

By far my favorite performance was a steel drum band playing at the outdoor theatre in the Luxembourg Gardens.  All the performers looked like they were between 11 and 18 years old (max), and they were not only great musicians, but looked like they were having a great time.  And they had the audience eating out of their hands.  Rather than try to explain, I took a video:

Note the big-haired dude jamming in the foreground.

And then there were the kids dousing each other in Silly String on Rue Mouffetard in the evening

IMG_0017

I live on a pedestrian street and right now there is a concert going on literally outside our living room window. I took this video sticking my camera out the open window (I live on the 5th French floor, which is really the sixth floor–don’t ask): should give you an idea of what I see when I look out my window on a daily basis (the concert is a bonus)! Not to mention an illustration of the extent to which we can see absolutely everything our neighbors across the way are doing.

In edible highlights, I had my first ice cream cone of the summer: my beloved pistachio gelato from Amorino, which last year had about 5 locations in central Paris and now it seems like it’s on every corner, including on Rue de la Roquette where I lived last year.  But this is one instance where I think they are growing because the ice cream is really, truly excellent.  This pistachio ice cream is like nothing I have ever tasted in my life, with regard to both taste and texture. 

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I can almost taste the pistachio ice cream. Does it have chunks of nuts and a delicious green color?


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

